Posted on

The fastest racer in Korea for the 2023 season will be crowned on Friday.

The final round of the 2023 CJ Logistics Super Race Championship was held on April 4 at Everland Speedway in Yongin, Gyeonggi Province. The Super 6000 class had seven rounds and the GT class had six rounds. The final was a double-round event, with qualifying and finals held on the same day.

In the Super 6000 class, Lee Chang-Wook (XStar Racing) took his third win. Starting from the second row of the grid, Lee took advantage of a mistake by leader Jung Chung Chul (Nexen-Volgas Motorsport) at the start to move into first place. He never relinquished the lead and was the first to take the chequered flag. He also took the CJ Logistics Fastest Lap Award, which is worth one additional driver’s point, giving him a golden opportunity to take the overall victory.

This makes the season championship a two-horse race between Lee Chan-jun (Xtar Racing, 116 points) and Lee Chang-wook (102 points). The 2002-born drivers, who have been teammates since their karting days, go into the final round with the same handicap weight (50 kilograms). The reason they are so keen to win the title is that they can set the record for the youngest seasonal champion in the Super 6000 class. The current record holder is Kim Jong-gyeom, who won the title in 2018 at the age of 27.

Of the two drivers, Lee is the favorite to win the title. Regardless of Lee’s performance, he only needs to finish third or better in the eight-round final to clinch the title. For Lee to take the title, he will need to give 100% on the final day to earn the points available. In the GT class, Lee Dong-ho (ERAIN Motorsport) took his third win of the season. After posting the best time in qualifying, Lee started from the first row of the grid and was chased by 스포츠토토 second-placed Jung Kyung-hoon (BitR&D) from the start. But Lee was not to be deterred. He didn’t relinquish his lead until the very end and took the win.

With Lee Dong-ho on top, the GT class will also decide its season champion in the final round. The favorite is Jung Kyung-hoon. His second place finish on the day secured him the points lead with a total of 109 points. The gap between him and second-place Lee Dong-ho is 89 points. Jung needs just 10 points in the final race to be crowned champion for the sixth consecutive year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *